•  

    VOICES OF PANZI

    Elle m'inspire DRC

     

     

     

    Carry on the work on breaking the silence

    Help survivors to raise their voices even louder

    Digital training

  • Dr. Denis Mukwege


    Three years after been saved from a murder attempt in his hospital of Lemara, South Kivu, Dr. Mukwege founded the Panzi Hospital in Bukavu. It was destined to be a maternity and treat obstetrical pathologies in a region where the women's moratality rate giving birth was high. But as soon as the first patient arrived, he was appalled by what he discovered: the women have not only been raper, they have been mutilated with various weapons.

     

    Since 1999 and the first victim of rape he met, it has been more than 55.000 patients that have been treated in his hospital.


     

    Laureate of the Nobel Peace Prize 2018, alongside the Yazidi activist Nadia Murad, Denis Mukwege reminded us in his poignant speech during the Nobel Prize ceremony that the fight was far from being over. He dedicated his prize to all the women victims of extremely violent rape in wartimes zones all over the world, hoping that his prize will contribute to the shed the light on those atrocities and that one day, the tragedy will stop.

  • Our mission

    1. Participation to the liberation of the survivors voices

     

    "When a woman is afraid to speak what has happened to her because she considers it a taboo, she protects her persecutor. Her silence multiplies the risks of others being raped. But if she manages to break her silence, shame will change sides and the rapist will know that his crime did not go unnoticed and that he will be judged and condemned. This will completely change the situation."

    - Dr. Denis Mukwege

     

    Carry on breaking the silence and the taboos, help the survivors to develop their ways of expression, so that they can share themselves, amongst themselves, is the first mission of Voice of Panzi. To talk about the trauma in order to reduce their impact so that they can start to build themselves back up is a work that they are already doing, and that together with can carry on. Just like in the podcast "Elle m'inspire", the survivors will be able to share their story to a person of their choice in the format of an hour long interview. Other that the therapeutic act of storytelling, the podcast will allow them to share their voices in their own country and internationally.  

     

     

    , to allow survivors to express themselves, to share amongst themselves is the first mission of this project. To talk about their trauma in order to reduce their effect and to be able to rebuild. As in the original podcast Elle m'inspire, the survivors will be able to share their stories to one another in an interview format of an hour or how long is needed.

    2. Keep on breaking the silence and taboos.

    Voices of Panzi: a podcast like no other

     

    Voices of Panzi will be accessible to the whole world. Thanks to our many distribution partenaires, we will make sure that theirs voices are being heard from Kinshasa to Washington D.C. , from Haïti to Brussels. The fact that they will be able to share their stories themselves and not via a third party is the strength of the project. Their stories are their own, the training team are only there to give them the means to share them. Just as the survivors and Dr. Mukwege wished for, their voices will be heard over the borders, in order to bring awareness to the international community that needs to face its responsibility with regards to the conflict linked to the minerals.

    3. Breaking the digital gap

     

    “Don’t let success stories fool you: the worldwide digital divide is still increasing and Africa remains the biggest victim.”

    - Soumitra Dutta, Global Future Council on Innovation Ecosystems, World Economic Forum

    We are living in the digital age, its practically impossible to avoid the use of the internet whether it would be for professional or personal use. Nonetheless, on the African continent, only 28% of men have access the internet and this rate drops to 22% for women. That gap is even wider between urban and rural area where only 2% of villages have access to the internet.

     

    With this project, the survivors of rape as a weapon of war will be trained and will develop precious skills to be able to use the internet in an intelligent way. Navigation, publication, communication and diffusion; from uploading their podcast on all the appropriate platforms to how to effectively communication on social media. They will come out of that workshop armed for the digital adventure.

     

    More over, we hope to help them develop digital skills that will be useful in other professions and lead to acquire paid jobs within local NGOs, local radios, startups and to the monetization of their podcast.

  • What's a podcast?

     

    A podcast is a recorded program available on the internet. It can be easily created and relatively cheap and free of access (in most cases) for its subscribers.

     

    Priscilla Adade's podcast "ELLE M'INSPIRE" was the inspiration for this project. Priscilla meets an inspiring woman for an hour where her guest shares, with no taboo, her trials and tribulations that have led her to be where she is right now. ELLE M'INSPIRE is a good reminder that every paths will encounter hurdles but that success, resilience and joy is accessible and can be created on a daily basis.
     

     

    VOICES OF PANZI aims to bring another tool expression in order to free the voices of the survivors in DRC. Their journey deserves to be heard all over the world, not only as silent victims but as inspirational and resilient role models.

     

  • The training

    The survivors will learn how to create their own podcast in 4 stages:

    Preparation

     

    How to use a microphone and software to record their interviews. How to conduct an interesting interview, ask pertinent questions and structure an episode. 

    Recording

     

    In pairs, the survivors will record their interviews. They will learn how to sharpen the sound and adapt it to different environment.

     

    Editing

     

    Mixing and the basis of editing: from using the software, edit, paste, adding background sound and save their recorded podcast.

    Distribution

     

    A podcast doesn't have much use without its audience. How to distribute their podcast on the internet and promote it on various platforms and social media.

     

    Monetization

     

    In order to ensure that their podcast is independently sustainable , the participants will learn how to monetize their podcast.

     

  • Independence: where freedom begins.

     

    It's important for the survivors to be able to carry on producing their podcast after the training.

    We will bring and leave all the material that they need.

    Laptops

    The basics

    Impossible to properly record, edit and distribute a podcast without laptops. The MacBook Air is light and can be transported everywhere. User friendly and efficient.

    Microphones

    The second basics

    A good mic makes a great podcast. It's essential that the survivors are able to record with a great, versatile and easy to use microphone. The Yeti Blue Microphone is the mic of all podcaster, simple to use, multidimensional recording options, its the #1 mic for beginners.

    Headphones

    The best way to hear yourself

    La crème de la crème of headphones, to be able to hear during the recording and for editing without having the outside world disturbing us, the Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro are the headphones for all sound professionals.

    Gigabytes

    Because without the internet, there is no podcast.

    In order to able the participants to distribute their podcast during at lease three years: modem and 4G will be provided.

  • The team

    Podcasters, storytellers & communication specialists

    Priscilla ADADE

    Project manager/Coach

    Actress, teacher, producer and podcaster, founder of PRYSM: the organisation that sheds lights on women via various projects and media.

     

    Host of the podcast ELLE M'INSPIRE, she will bring her experience to the training from how to produce the podcast to its distribution.

     

     

    Lauren BASTIDE

    Coach/ Sponsor

    Journalist, podcaster and feminist. Lauren has been for 10 years, reporter then editor in chief of the ELLE France magazine before changing to Le Grand Journal of Canal +. Co-founder of the Nouvelles Ecoutes studio, she is also the host of the famous feminist podcast La Poudre. She will bring her experience to the project whether in the establishment of the training program as well as for the production in Panzi. Nouvelles Ecoutes is also a sponsor and media partner.

    Wina Su BONDEKWE

    Assistant

    Having grown up in the socio-cultural spheres of the DRC, Wine Su wishes to help and support women in her native country. Organized and thorough, Wine Su will brings these qualities to assist the team on all levels and especially around the crowdfunding and the communication strategy.

    Estelle Depris

    Assistant

    Estelle lives in Brussels, she is Belgo-Congolese. Congolese-Belgian. Intersectional activist, Estelle communicates on social media to inform and bring awareness with regards to socials struggles via her podcast Sans Blanc de Rien.

     

    Estelle will assist the team on all levels and more specifically she will be in charge of the social media as a community manager.

  • Get to know the story of Tatiana Mukanire:

    Coordinator of the Mouvement National des Survivant.e.s de Violences Sexuelles en RDC.

  • H.R.H. the Great Duchess of Luxembourg

     

    We are extremely grateful to Her Royal Highness the Great Duchess of Luxembourg who has accepted to support the project by becoming our official sponsor.

     

    Very active to fight sexual violence against women during war times, she is the founder of the international conference and organisation Stand, Speak, Rise Up Against Sexual Violence in Fragile Environments.

  • Follow us on social media to never miss a thing!

  • You wish to support the project, have enquiries or you would like to send us a message?

    Leave your details below and we will get back to you!

    PRISCILLA ADADE
    Founder/Director of PRYSM
    www.elleminspire.com

•  

    VOICES OF PANZI

    Elle m'inspire RDC

     

     

     

    Continuer à briser les tabous

    Participer à la libération de la parole des survivantes

    Former au numérique

  • Dr. Denis Mukwege


    Trois ans après avoir échappé à une tentative d'assassinat dans son hôpital de Lemara au Sud Kivu, le Dr. Mukwege fonde l'Hôpital de Panzi à Bukavu destiné à être une maternité et à traiter des pathologies obstétriques dans une région où un nombre élevé de femmes meurent en accouchant. Mais dès la première patiente, il est effaré par ce qu'il découvre: les femmes n’ont pas seulement été violées, elles ont été mutilées à l’aide de différents outils.

     

    Depuis 1999 et la première victime de viol qu’il rencontre, c’est plus de 55 000 patientes qui ont été soignées dans son hôpital.
     

    Lauréat du Prix Nobel de la Paix 2018 aux côtés de la militantes Yézidie Nadia Murad, Denis Mukwege nous a rappelé dans un discours poignant lors de la cérémonie du Nobel que le combat était loin d’être fini. Il a dédié son prix à toutes les femmes victimes de viol avec extrême violence en temps de guerre à travers le monde, espérant ainsi que ce prix contribuera à mettre en lumière ces atrocités et qu’enfin la tragédie s’arrête.

  • Notre Mission

    1. Participer à la libération de la parole des survivantes

     

    "Lorsqu’une femme n'ose pas parler du viol qu'elle a vécu, car elle le considère comme un tabou, elle protège son bourreau. Son silence multiplie les risques de nouveaux viols. Mais si elle réussit à briser le silence, la honte changera de camp et l'agresseur saura que son crime ne passera pas inaperçu, qu’il sera jugé et condamné. Cela changera complètement la donne."

    - Dr. Denis Mukwege

     

    Continuer à briser le silence et les tabous, aider les survivantes à développer leur travail d'expression, afin qu'elle puissent se livrer elles-mêmes et entre elles, est la première mission de notre projet. Parler des traumatismes afin de les réduire et de pouvoir commencer à se reconstruire est un travail qu'elles font déjà et qu'ensemble, nous pourrons continuer à développer. Comme dans le podcast "Elle m'inspire", les survivrant.e.s pourront livrer leur histoire à une personne de leur choix sous forme d'interview d'une heure. Mis à part l'effet thérapeutique de se raconter, les podcasts seront pour elles une opportunité de faire raisonner leur voix dans leur pays et au-delà.

    2. Continuer à briser le silence et les tabous.

    Elles m'inspirent : un podcast pas comme les autres.

     

    VOICES OF PANZI sera accessible dans le monde entier. Grâce à de multiples partenaires de diffusion, leurs voix et leurs histoires soient entendues de Kinshasa à Washington en passant par Bruxelles. Du fait qu'elles pourront partager leurs histoires non pas de manières interposée mais d'elles-mêmes participera à la force du projet. Leurs histoires leur appartiennent, l'équipe de formation ne fait que leur donner les moyens de les partager. Conformément aux souhaits du Dr Mukwege et des survivantes, leurs voix seront entendues au delà des frontières afin de raisonner au sein de la communauté internationale qui doit se retrouver face à ses responsabilités de chef d'orchestre dans les conflits liés aux minerais.  

    3. Eliminer le fossé numérique

     

    “Don’t let success stories fool you: the worldwide digital divide is still increasing and Africa remains the biggest victim.”

    - Soumitra Dutta, Global Future Council on Innovation Ecosystems, World Economic Forum

    Nous sommes dans l'ère du numérique, impossible d'y échapper autant dans la vie professionnelle que personnelle. Pourtant, sur le continent Africain seulement 28% des hommes utilisent internet et le taux chez les femmes baisse à 22%. La fracture est encore plus grande entre les milieux urbain et ruraux où seulement 2% des villages y ont accès et utilisent internet.

     

    Dans ce projet, les survivantes seront formées et recevront les outils nécessaires pour utiliser internet intelligemment. Navigation, publication, communication et diffusion; de l'installation de leurs podcasts sur différentes plateformes à comment communiquer sur les réseaux sociaux, elles sortiront de cet atelier armées pour l'aventure numérique.

     

    De plus, nous espérons leur apporter des compétences technologiques et professionnelles utiles pouvant mener à des activités potentiellement rémunératrices telles que dans des radios locales, des entreprises, des ONGs et par la monétisation de leur podcast.

  • Pourquoi le podcast ?

    Un podcast consiste en une série d'épisodes audios. Il a l'avantage d'être relativement aisé et peu coûteux à créer, et d'être facilement accessible à un public mondial. Le podcasting connait un succès explosif depuis 2018.

    Le podcast ELLE M'INSPIRE de Priscilla Adade est à l'origine du projet. Priscilla part à la rencontre de femmes inspirantes. Dans une conversation de plus d'une heure, ces femmes se livrent sans tabous à propos de leurs parcours personnels et professionnels.

    ELLE M’INSPIRE rappelle que la réussite est en chacun de nous, que rien n’est gravé dans le marbre, que la route est difficile pour toutes et pour tous, que la résilience se créée et se cultive chaque jour.

     

    L'objectif de VOICES OF PANZI est de donner des outils supplémentaires afin de participer à la libération de la parole de survivant.e.s en RDC. De par leur parcours, elles méritent que leurs voix portent partout dans le monde, non pas en tant que victimes silencieuses, mais en tant que modèle d'inspiration et de résilience.

  • La formation

    Les survivantes apprendront à créer un podcast en 4 étapes.

    La préparation

    Comment utiliser un micro et le logiciel d'enregistrement pour une prise de son impeccable.

     

    Comment construire une interview, les questions pertinentes, la structure de l'emission.

    L'enregistrement

    En duo, les survivantes enregistreront leurs épisodes respectifs.

     

    Comment perfectionner la prise de son et les réglages nécessaires à un bon enregistrement.

    Le montage

    Les bases du montage: comment utiliser le logiciel de montage, couper, coller, et sauvegarder l'épisode enregistré.

    La diffusion

    Le podcast ne serait rien sans ses auditeurs.

    Comment diffuser son podcast sur internet en utilisant les réseaux sociaux et toutes les plateformes de diffusion de podcast.

  • L'autonomie: le début de la liberté

    Il est important que les survivant.e.s puissent continuer à produire leurs podcasts après la formation au départ de l'équipe. Pour ce faire, nous leur procurons du matériel que nous leur laisserons.

    Ordinateurs

    La base

    Sans ordinateur, impossible d'enregistrer, de monter et de diffuser le podcast. Le Macbook Air est léger, peut se transporter partout, simple d'utilisation et efficace.

    Micros

    La deuxième base

    Un bon micro fait un bon podcast. Il est primordial que les survivantes puissent s'enregistrer avec des micros de bonne qualité. Le Yeti Blue Microphone est le micro de tous les podcasters, simple d'utilisation, prise de son multidimensionnelle, c'est le #1 des micros et c'est cette qualité que nous voulons offrir aux participantes.

    Casques

    Le meilleur moyen de s'entendre

    La crème de la crème des casques sonores pour pouvoir s'écouter, monter en détail les épisodes et le réécouter en boucle sans laisser le monde extérieur troubler notre calme.

    Gigabites

    Parce que sans diffusion, un podcast n'est pas.

    Afin de permettre aux participantes de diffuser leurs podcast pendant au moins trois ans: modem et 4G seront fournis.

  • L'équipe

    Podcasting, storytelling, coaching et réseaux sociaux.

    Priscilla Adade

    Porteuse du projet/ Formatrice

    Multi slasheuse par excellence: actrice, professeur de théâtre et surtout fondatrice de PRYSM: l'entreprise sociale qui met les femmes en valeur à travers divers projets et médias.

    Présentatrice du podcast Elle m'inspire, elle pourra mettre son expérience au service du programme, de comment construire un podcast pertinent à comment communiquer et le diffuser.

    Lauren Bastide

    Formatrice/ Sponsor

    Journaliste, podcasteuse et féministe. Elle a été, pendant 10 ans, reporter puis rédactrice en chef au magazine ELLE, avant de faire un passage au Grand Journal de Canal+. Co- fondatrice du studio Nouvelles Écoutes, elle est aussi la présentatrice du podcast féministe La Poudre. Elle apportera son expertise au projet dès la pré-production et la création de la formation ainsi que sur place lors de la production. Nouvelles Ecoutes est partenaire média de ce projet.

    Cyrielle Bedu

    Formatrice

    Chargée de production chez Louie Media, Cyrielle présente le podcast Emotions et coordonne plusieurs autres podcasts. Avant ça, elle a travaillé pour plusieurs médias radiophoniques et pour la presse web. Elle apportera son expertise au projet dès la pré -production et la création de la formation ainsi que sur place lors de la production.

    Louie Media est partenaire média de ce projet.

    Wina Su Bondekwe

    Assistante

    Baignée depuis toujours dans les luttes socio-culturelles de la RDC, Wina Su a pour but d’aider et de soutenir les femmes de son pays natal. Organisée et rigoureuse, Wina Su apportera ces qualités pour assister l’équipe à tous les niveaux et plus particulièrement autour de la levée de fonds et de la stratégie de communication.

    Estelle Depris

    Assistante

    Estelle est une bruxelloise Congolaise - Belge. Activiste intersectionnelle, elle communique via les réseaux sociaux pour informer et sensibiliser sur les questions relatives aux luttes sociales via son podcast Sans Blanc de Rien.

    Estelle assistera l’équipe à tous niveaux et plus particulièrement sur les réseaux sociaux en tant que community manager.

  • S.A.R., la Grande-Duchesse du Luxembourg

    Nous exprimons notre gratitude à S.A.R., la Grande-Duchesse du Luxembourg, qui a accepté de soutenir le projet en tant que marraine officielle.

    En 2019, elle lance le premier forum mettant sur la même scène experts et survivant.e.s des violences sexuelles en temps de guerre Stand, Speak, Rise Up Against Sexual Violence in Fragile Environments, qui est aujourd'hui une association.

  • Suivez nous sur les réseaux sociaux pour ne rien manquer!

  • Vous souhaitez soutenir le projet? Laissez vos coordonnées ci-dessous, nous vous contacterons!

    PRISCILLA ADADE
    Fondatrice & Directrice PRYSM
    www.monprysm.com
    +32/498.69.60.02